Go back

The blog (a.k.a. something broke again)

# 09 Sep, 2018

Oh, blog, how I've been yearning for you! Here I am again, same as always: tears in my eyes, shattered hopes and dreams and a frown to top it all off!
'My, what could have possibly happened this time?'   <------ that's u lol
Why, my poor heart can't stand it anymore. Truth be told, I fucked up big time and you should get ready to point and laugh! Today's topics: GNU/Linux, my unmatchable stupidity.

If you aren't a Linux user, there's this one folder called .config where most configuration for software and shit is being stored. Long story short, a few days ago I was into that folder, and forgot to enter a folder within it. So, I'm really tired, I'm in .config and I ran the most dreaded and feared rm -r command on * (which stands for everything in the current folder). BANG, all gone! In an instant! Faster, maybe! Gone forever... Changes immediately became apprent as some programs stopped displaying media items. Restarting those fixed everything though.

After a bunch of reconfiguration to get my comfiness back I went to sleep. I got used living with this trauma for the next 3 days or so, during which I had not yet rebooted my PC. Then came the dawn of final day. I told myself I'd give the poor thing a rest, I put it through enough misery as it is, so I shut it down and went to sleep, only to wake up to the worst thing I've faced yet. My epic desktop config was gone. Jk, I remade the thing in a couple of minutes, I don't bother ricing my shit too much. After even more reconfiguration of shit I felt really exhausted so I thought I'd jam for a bit to lift my spirits. That was when I took the garment of darkness on me. WineASIO is fucked. Selecting it crashes everything because it apprently doesn't exist anymore. I tried fixing this shit all day to no avail. I also can't unregister the DLL so that's fucking great too. I fucked with the registry, I fucked with the PulseAudio and JACK So what do I do now?

Just as any sane person would do, I fall into a deep depressin, put on some albums that are tied with unhappy past events in my life and start lamenting. I have lost it all.
After about two hours of swimming in this ocean of sorrow, I decided to come to terms with the situation and give up on playing music. I then fired up MuseScore and told myself I'm gonna start learning about what I'm doing with it at some point. I then got even more depressed because it was way less fun than actually playing something physically so I ragequit it and started metally screaming. I kept trying to fix wineasio for the rest of the day to no avail, but during this lengthy, tiresome process I discovered that my microphone also doesn't work anymore with JACK. One great thing after the other.

Anyway, no conclusion for now, I'll continue battling this tomorrow. I'm never touching .config again (that's a lie). Anyway I'm tired as shit so I'm going to sleep if this post seems awkward or stupid or shit or all of that you now know why, see ya.

# 18 Jul, 2018

Hello internet and welcome to behind the meme! actually no nevermind fuck that
What's up guys and guys (because girls would never touch something that has anything to do with me)? Just chiming in to say that I've got my own subdirectory on Hyperlink. It's not a webring anymore but a webhome so basically it's a bunch of us crammed in a single account so yeah, there's that. Check it out, or don't, idk. I probably won't update my subdir too much unless I get a huge sudden explosion of ideas or something.

As for this site, I have absolutely no idea what to do with it anymore. I guess it's not as fun as it used to be when I first joined Neocities. We'll see how it goes I guess.

Also, if you're not yet aware, Jake left Neocities again and I don't think he's coming back anytime soon.

# 15 Apr, 2018

You know those dumb fucking screws with hexagonal holes? Yeah, you're right, they suck. You either need a retarded screwdriver tip or an L hook to do anything with them. But I have those things, so what's the problem? I'll tell you what the bloody problem is: over time, the hexagonal screw hole became a circular screw hole because of how much I had to screw and unscrew it so how the hell am I supposed to unscrew it now? I tried to fuck around with some pliers but none could grab on and now I'm sad! The search continues...

Update: This. Also screws and screws.

Screw counter (including this one): 10 (updated)

# 6 Apr, 2018

Well hello there! Here I am again, but don't worry, for nothing's changed at all! Well, the look of the site did but I'm talking about what's usually posted here: funny little mishaps! What I'm bringing to the table today is... *drum roll* GNU plus Linux plus WINE! That's right, the perfect combination of things, a match made in hell!

A while ago I tried to install .NET or some shit like that ended up fucking everything up and photoshop started to show a popup whenever I cancelled something. I eventually got tired of that piece of shit error and told myself that I can live without photoshop. I mean, I have Krita and GIMP, what more could I ask for? (God, please help me.)

Today, though, something else happened. I'm a REAPER user when it comes to DAWs and it runs great on WINE, no complaints here, but when it comes to VSTs? Don't even get me started, a lot of them crash when a tooltip's about to show, but that just means they're shitty VSTs! However, I am in love with Guitar Rig 5, which runs great... well, used to run. Because today, as I was about to record something, I noticed my tone isn't quite what I'm looking for. I started tweaking some shit around until it sounded nice and then I decided to save it as a custom preset. But for some unknown reason, I wanted to click the "Info" button, although I was well aware that all the fields would be empty. Bam, error, crash.

'Yeah, whatever, let's just fire up REAPER again.' I told myself as I typed "reaper" in the terminal. REAPER crashes on startup. I start panicking, run Guitar Rig as standalone and it still errors out. This is it, it's over, I can't fix it, fuck! I reinstalled, I looked it up, no answers anywhere! *close-up of a tear streaming down my face* Truly a crused day, this is.

But I hear you, wherever you may be, saying 'Why don't you just switch back over to Windows? xD'. Because Windows sucks. And it's slow. And my audio interface doesn't seem to get along with it very well, so fuck Windows! I could create a new WINE prefix and install REAPER and Guitar Rig there but who the fuck would want to spend time doing that. I'll just have to keep on looking for a solution and stick with TH3 and Amplitube for now. *sigh*

Update: I fucked around with the registry keys and got it to work again. Now that dramatic and depressing movie script I wrote earlier is pointless, oh well.

# 24 Dec, 2017

My dad got me a "Misfortune Cookie" for Christmas. Just like a regular fortune cookie, but it was black and tasted like death. The piece of paper inside said "People only talk to you out of pity". Thanks, dad.

# 11 Dec, 2017

Time for a depressing post. Alright, here we go! For the past two days I've been working on a terminal client for a textboard because it had an API and I was EXTREMELY bored.

Now, I haven't really "programmed" in quite a while so I'm impressed by the fact that I actually fucking finished it! Like, it actually works, 100% functional. Well maybe 90% because I didn't implement a feature, I'll do that tomorrow. But you can browse all the boards, you can look at the threads, you can even start and reply to threads! All of this while also having the comfiness of your shell. It even has colors! I've really outdone myself with this one.

I think this is the first real thing I've programmed, not just quick useless scripts for automation or stuff like that. I actually felt good when I was done with it. When I managed to fix all (most) of the bugs and IT WORKED! But soon afterwards came the darkness. I was quick to realize that yes, I made this unbelievable thing (for my standards) and yes, it works exactly like it should, but... who's going to use it? I don't want to shill it on one of the boards or their discord server, I wouldn't wanna see shit like that either. Probably. Also half of the code is a fucking mess but who gives a fuck about that? Nobody's going to look at it anyway, I guess that's a good thing.

So, now what? Why did I waste my time on this? I'll probably forget about it too. Another abandoned project going into the void called Github. A sad day indeed.

# 21 Nov, 2017

You have no idea what agony is if you never tried to restring a floyd rose.

# 06 Nov, 2017

I'm really tired right now but I managed to make a short midi before hitting the bed. This one's pretty chill and (i think) better than the last one so give it a listen, or don't!
Goodnight, my dudes.

# 23 Oct, 2017

The agonizing experiment is over, I bought a new hard drive.
Also, turns out that some ghost asshole unplugged my Debian hard drive and what I was seeing in BIOS was the disc drive I forgot I had.

# 21 Oct, 2017

Remember when I asked people to guess what's going to break next? Probably not because only rocketmix saw it but eh. Well, today is the big reveal!
Drum roll, please! *drum roll*
EVERYTHING!

My Windows 7 hard drive that I somehow saved last time is almost falling apart and I have no backups. I can't even boot it anymore but I can read it from my live USB so that's cool.
Also, my other hard drive with Debian 8 magically became invisible to anything but the BIOS and I fucked GRUB up a few days ago in order to fix my Windows hard drive yet again.
But worry not, dear readers, for I still have my live USB with persistence! But then AGAIN, networking doesn't seem to work with persistence and I'm too lazy to fix it. I'd much rather lie in my own misery and cry.
So, what's left? Are there any other alternatives for me? Am I doomed with a life where I can't use my computer anymore because I'm too depressed to go buy a bunch of new hard drives? Yup, that's it, sadly.

Actually wait hold on a sec there is one last thing I could do! Persistence may not work but I still have a last resort: live mode.
Yup, live mode. I'm actually going to try using that over buying new hard drives. Look at it as an experiment: to see how long I can last starting every single day from zero. Let's see how that goes.
F, my dear hard drive. You might be gone soon enough, but you will never be forgotten ;(

# 06 Oct, 2017

Today in the computer lab I jumped in a 5-player FFA on Zandronum (and won two rounds with max kills somehow!)
Also writing this on my phone now and because of that I want to die.

# 02 Sep, 2017

I think one of my hard drives (the one with Windows 7 and everything) DIED :DDDDDDD

Update: It did :)

# 31 Aug, 2017

You know those days when you're bored and sad and shit? But then you wake up one day and you're like "Can't believe today was such a great day!" at the end of it all? Well today was exactly the opposite of that for me.

I'll just get straight to it: one of my extension cords that powered the monitor, another extension cord and pretty much everything around my room fucking exploded and I'm not even kidding. Why? Because I moved the fucking TV to the desk my monitor is on and then I had to plug it in. Why? Because my GPU fried so I couldn't use a HDMI cable and had to use a VGA one.

Tl;dr GPU fried, extension cord blew up, almost nothing in my room works anymore :)

# 14 Aug, 2017

I got really bored so I made a midi that sounds like shit in around 20 minutes

# 17 Jul, 2017

Finally bought some strings. I also got five .010s with the set just to be sure. My other guitar's high E snapped today so good thing I bought those. I should be more careful with bends.

# 16 Jul, 2017

My high E string snapped for the 3rd or 4th time this year wtf
Now I have to go buy a new set tomorrow fuck

Update: The only guitar store in my city is closed :)

# 8 Jul, 2017

I want the miku pedal but I don't have money

# 6 Jun, 2017

a

# 27 Apr, 2017

New blog because
Everything changed yet again! Current version is now nameless 5.0
New stuff includes space shit in the background and a sliding sidebar. And this new blog I guess? Also kinda minimalistic-ish design. ALSO you might be able to zoom and it doesnt look like garbage.